2019 Annual Report

Click here to view the 2019 Annual Report


2019 Audited Financial Statements

Click here to view the 2019 Audited Financial Statements


At a meeting of Council held on April 30th, 2020, the officers of the College Council were appointed as follows:


Nominee Type

Gary Wakelam President

Tara Singleton


Pam Rehm


Jason Lohr

Council Member

Youssef (Joe) Sleiman

Council Member 

Linda Seymour

Council Member




APRIL 3, 2020


Chief Electoral Officer – Jeff VanDamme

Committee Member- Lisa Basler

Committee Member – Stephanie Bruni-Bossio

Committee Member- Nycole Yacey

Notice of Election

A Notice of Election was circulated to Regulated Members of the College of Dental Technologists of Alberta (CDTA) on February 21st, 2020.  The Notice of Election was also posted on the CDTA website. Accompanying the Notice of Election was a call for Nominations, Nomination Form and request for Nominees to provide documentation in support of their Nomination.  A deadline of March 13, 2020 was set for Nominations to be submitted.

Nomination Review and Approval

The Nomination and Election Committee met via tele-meeting on March 19th, 2020 to review the nominations.  In total six (6) nominations were received and reviewed.  All six (6) nominations were found to be complete and valid and were approved by the Committee.

Appointment of Council

In accordance with CDTA Bylaws, at its meeting held on March 19th, 2020, the Nomination and Election Committee passed a motion appointing the six (6) Nominees to Council.

Council is appointed as follows:


Nominee Type

Jason Lohr

Employer RDT/DT

Pam Rehm

Non-Employer RDT/DT

Linda Seymour

Non-Employer RDT/DT

Tara Singleton

Non-Employer RDT/DT

Yousef (Joe) Sleiman

Non-Employer RDT/DT

Gary Wakelam

Employer RDT/DT


Jeff Van Damme, Chief Electoral Officer

College of Dental Technologists of Alberta

You can access Councillor Bios here

2020 Annual General Meeting - CANCELLED

After careful consideration, given the extraordinary circumstances related to COVID-19, the CDTA Council has made the decision to cancel the 2020 Annual General Meeting.  All documents typically presented at the Annual General Meeting, including the 2019 audited financial statements will be prepared and circulated to Members via email for review.

The last meeting of the current Council will be held on April 30th.  Immediately following the meeting on April 30th, powers and duties of Council will transition immediately to the newly appointed Council.

2020 Practical Examinations Cancelled

To ensure the health and safety of exam candidates and College staff, as a result of the current COVID-19 situation, the 2020 Practical Exams scheduled for April 14, 15, 16, 16, 2020, are cancelled until further notice.

The CDTA will continue to monitor the situation and exams will be rescheduled at a later date.





On April 1, 2019, Bill 21 “An Act to Protect Patients”, came into force in Alberta. As a requirement of Bill 21, all Regulated health care professionals are required to complete mandatory Education.

In collaboration with the AFRHP, Educational resources were developped to meet the requirements of Bill 21.


 “Protecting Patients from Sexual Abuse and Misconduct” 

This course is a 1-hour course, consisting of three modules, designed for Regulated healthcare professionals

1. An Introduction to An Act to Protect Patients

2. Preventing Sexual Abuse and Sexual Misconduct

3. When Sexual Abuse and Sexual Misconduct Has Occurred

There is NO tracking available for this course. The course does not allow users to close and return to the course.  Please allow sufficient time to fully complete the course. 

Upon completion, Members will be required to print a personalized certificate. (IMPORTANT: Pop-ups must be enabled in your browser in order to print the certificate. Once you have closed your browser, you cannot return to print the certificate)

This course must be completed by all regulated members prior to August 1st, 2020.  Proof of completion must be uploaded into the Member Management system for verification:

            Step 1: log on to

            Step 2: In the top righthand corner of the screen click on Hello DT _ _ _ _

            Step 3: Click on “My CDTA CE Documents”

            Step 4: Upload CE certificate, SAVE

This training is required under Provincial Legislation and therefore,  Regulated Members who have not completed the course prior to August 1st, 2020, will not be eligible to renew their Practice Permits for the 2021 registration year.



November 26, 2019

The Bylaws of the College of Dental Technologists of Alberta have been amended by Council effective November 21, 2019.   You can access the Bylaws at: