

February 26, 2024

# **NOTICE OF ELECTION**

To: Regulated Members of the College of Dental Technologists of Alberta (CDTA)

**YOU ARE HEREBY NOTIFIED** that an election of the CDTA Council pursuant to the *Health Professions Act,* and the CDTA *Bylaws,* will be held on April 30, 2024.

In accordance with the CDTA *bylaws,* ballots will be cast electronically prior to Monday, May 1, 2024.



## **2024 Election Timeline**

February 26, 2024	Nomination open
March 18, 2024	Nominations close at 4:00 pm MST
	Electronic voting opens
April 19, 2024	Regulated members receive a link
	by email + instructions
April 30, 2024	Voting closes at 11:59 pm MST
May 10, 2024	New Councillors officially announced
June 3, 2024	New Councillors start their term/Attend first Council meeting



### **Council Transition Plan**

<u>Bill 30, the Health Statutes Amendment Act, 2020</u> ("Bill 30") came into force July 29, 2020. It changed 9 pieces of health legislation to strengthen the role of Albertans in our health system. Bill 30:

- Changes increased the number of public members appointed to regulatory college councils, complaint review committees and hearing tribunals to give Albertans a stronger voice and greater role in professional oversight.
- The number of public members will increase to 50% of each group's membership up from 25%.

To comply with Bill 30, the CDTA Council approved *Appendix A- Council Transition Plan* of the CDTA bylaws, which reduced the number of regulated members on Council from six (6) to four (4) effective April 30, 2023.

In addition, *Appendix A- Council Transition Plan,* shifts to a stagged election model to ensure continuity on Council.

Two regulated member positions on Council are open for election in the 2024 election as follows:

1		3-Year	April 30, 2027
4	Vacant as of January 1, 2024	2-Year	April 30, 2026

#### Summary of Appendix A:

### 4 Elected Regulated Members Including the Chair and Vice-Chair

Transition Plan					
Council Member	Term Begins	Cycle	Term Ends		
1	April 30, 2020	4 Year	April 30, 2024		
2	April 30, 2020	5 Year	April 30, 2025		
3	April 30, 2020	3 Year	April 30, 2023		
4	April 30, 2020	3 Year	April 30, 2023		
<del>5</del>	<del>April 30, 2020</del>	<del>3 Year</del>	<del>April 30, 2023</del>		
<del>6</del>	<del>April 30, 2020</del>	<del>3 Year</del>	<del>April 30, 2023</del>		

3-Year Cycle				
Council Member	Term Begins	Cycle	Term Ends	
1	April 30, 2024	3-Year	April 30, 2027	
2	April 30, 2025	3-Year	April 30, 2028	
3	April 30, 2023	3-Year	April 30, 2026	
4	April 30, 2023	3-Year	April 30, 2026	
<del>5</del>	<del>April 30, 2026</del>	<del>3-Year</del>	<del>April 30, 2023</del>	
<del>6</del>	<del>April 30, 2026</del>	<del>3-Year</del>	<del>April 30, 2023</del>	

Composition of Transitioned Council at April 30, 2023				
Council Member	Term Begins	Cycle	Term Ends	
1 (Chair)	April 30, 2023	1 Year	April 30, 2024	
2 (Vice-Chair)	April 30, 2023	2 Year	April 30, 2025	
3	April 30, 2023	3 Year	April 30, 2026	
4	April 30, 2023	3 Year	April 30, 2026	
<del>5</del>	Position Eliminated	<del>N/A</del>	<del>N/A</del>	
<del>6</del>	Position Eliminated	<del>N/A</del>	<del>N/A</del>	
Public Member 1	April 1, 2021	3 Year	April 1, 2024	
Public Member 2	April 6, 2021	2 Year	April 6, 2023	
Public Member 3	TBD	TBD	TBD	
Public Member 4	TBD	TBD	TBD	